A Little Leg Action

2 Feb

Dearest Readers,

I know you were expecting more arm workouts, but I have fooled you. Well….actually….I just realized I need more equipment to properly demonstrate more arm exercises, but I wanted to keep posting exercises! So I was like, enough of the arms, let’s get a lil’ leg up in hurrr. (Yes, I did just attempt ghetto language. I realize it was unsuccessful and it won’t happen again.)

I always forget to actually work my legs, because I do the elliptical, theĀ treadmill and Jeff Hill. I figure that enough is a workout. But my ever-brilliant Mother (reminder: she is now referred to as the Fitness Oracle), reminded me it is important to work the legs, too. After attending some really excellent bootcamp classes, taught by the fitness oracle herself, and Ping’s Tighten and Tone, I was inspired!

First, find a hallway in your dorm or house, or at least the length of one realllllly long room. You’ll use it.

The Lunge: Okay, anyone who ever tried sports ever (including me) knows the lunge. But as a reminder: don’t let your front knee go over your toe, and make sure to lower yourself straight down. Aim to create a 90 degree angle with your lunging leg. Then step forward and do it again with the other lege. Do two “lunge laps” aka go down and back twice. To add a little more to your lunge, add a glute raise after each each lunge. Instead of lunging down then just standing back up, lift your lunging leg straight back (and push it up a little so you feel it…right in the butt).

the lunge

the glute raise

After you did two laps, take a quick break and then do lunges WITH ABS. (expect the unexpected with me!) Take your faithful tide and hold it above your head, when you lunge down with your right leg, bring the tide bottle down and twist your right. As you stand up, lift the tide back up, and do the same as you lunge, twist to that side on the left. Really twist as you go down and you can feel it in the obliques. Do a lap this way…it requires so much coordination!!!

Tide side lunge

Wall Sits: Never underestimate a good wall sit. All you need is a sturdy wall and the endurance not to cry like a child as you try to sit against it properly. With the wall sit, remember to keep your back straight, your legs at a 90 degree angle with your knees (and your feet) shoulder width apart, and your feet facing forward. Do a wall sit for a minute and a half. At 30 seconds start tap your toes (one at a time) for 30 seconds. At the 60 second mark, tap your heels (one at a time) till you can’t anymore. It’s awful. Then once you take a few minute break, do another minute long wall sit. So much pain.

just sitting on a wall....like I do

Calf Raises: Some one asked me the other day if a calf raise is a really exercise. Um…it is really real. Have you ever done calf raises for a few minutes? Obvi not. It helps to have something to balance you (like something that can act like a cane….like a bed post or something). Stand straight up with feet facing forward and literally raise up on your tip toes than back down…do this fast-ish like one per second. Do this for 30 seconds. Then point your toes in and do calf raises for another 30 seconds. Then point your toes out and do another 30 calf raises. Are your calves not clearly in pain?! Try it. 2 minutes…go!

raising some calves

Now there are other exercise for legs, like squats and such. I just try to feature 3 or so exercises per post…and taking all these pictures on my camera by myself is proving to be a bit of a challenge. Leave me a message with your favorite leg exercises!

Leg-olas (bahahah LOTR pun)-ily,

the Toned Toothpick Teacher (T3)

2 Responses to “A Little Leg Action”

  1. Tami February 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    If you don’t have a hallway to walk down, just lunge in place by stepping your foot back and keeping your front foot stationary then alternate your legs back. Great ideas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Come Together Now: THE ULTIMATE WORKOUT « FIT-ting In - March 12, 2011

    […] Legs: Not that you have them warmed up, let’s do some leg-action. […]

Leave a Reply

