An Ab a Day Keeps the … Fat Away?

22 Jan

Dearest Readers,

Killer Abs. We all want them. For a guy, it’s always nice to aim for a six pack, and for a girl, it’s a confidence boost when there’s no “donut” around the top of the pants.

In order to keep my abs in shape, I took about a zillion and a half pilates classes. They are beautiful things, but the most important part about ab workouts is to do them regularly to maintain them. You heard me right kids, constant vigilance (in the word’s of Professor Moody of course.)

Every night before I go to sleep, I do 50 crunches and then do a set of one hundreds. The hundred is demonstrated below. You put your legs in the table top position and put your arms out parallel to the ground. Pull your chin to your chest (some people argue that you should keep a tennis ball sized space between your chin and your chest, but in my pilates class, I learned it this way so I’m going with what I know) Try to keep your shoulder blades off of the ground for the whole exercise, so your abs are always contracted. You then pat your arms and count to 100. (Each pat is like a beat). It’s easy to forget to breath, so make sure you breath in for 5 seconds then release for 5 seconds. (In through your nose and out through your mouth.) Note: do this on a carpeted surface!!! (your back will thank you)

Hundreds

This picture is super low res and is taken in non exercise clothes, but I am home for the weekend so I had to make do.

The moral of the story is that unlike weights, which can only be done every other day (obviously you can do some sort of weight every day, but they have to be different kinds of weights…we’ll get to that later), the abs can and should be worked daily. It just feels nice to end the day on a workout note. Like even if I just ate some greasy food, I still worked out. That way, even if one week you can only get the gym once, you maintain your fab abs.

Abdominally Yours,

The Toned Toothpick Teacher (T3)

Leave a Reply

